This edition of Bands You Should Know, feature a band I heard in New Zealand back in 2010.  We were on our honeymoon there and were in Christchurch for a couple of days before heading to Queenstown.  Knowing that we were going to be heading to temuka to spend the night at a friends then queenstown the next day, we figured we would buy some CD’s.  We went to I beleive a Marbecks music store in Christchurch.  Sadly I can’t verify if that was the name of the place because the location has been devastated by the earthquakes a couple of years ago.  Anyway we went to the counter and asked for the employee’s opinion.  She recommended a few groups to us, I liked most of them enough to buy them.  One of them was a group called Midnight Youth.

Midnight Youth was formed in Auckland, New Zealand in 2006 by Simon Oscroft, Matt Warman and Aidan Bartlett.  The three core founding members played together in New Zealands Rockquest competitions for high schools.  The group was rounded out when Jeremy Redmore and Nick Campbell joined in 2006.  Soon after forming, in 2007, they released two independandt singles, A New Day and Supernatural.  In 2008, when people still looked at Myspace, they were one of the top unsigned bands list there also.  Also in 2007 they got some notoriety playing as the opening act for Ok Go, Incubus and even INXS on their New Zealand tours.  They funded themselves, and went to New York to record their debut album The Brave Don’t Run with producer Terence Dover.  While in New York they recorded at various students throughout the city.

The Brave Don’t Run 2009

          The Brave Don’t Run was released in 2009 under Warner Music NZ, with whom they signed in with in 2008, shortly after they finished recording it.  The album peaked at number 2 on the New Zealand charts and the song, The Letter, became the bands first top 40 hit and peaked at number 20.  There were another couple of hits and he song Golden Love was used in the season finale of One Tree Hill in May of 2010, giving the band some US exposure.

I’ve been trying to figure out how to classify their music and I guess the best I could do is just by saying its rock.  The album starts out strong with Cavalry and continues the whole way through, I’ve listened to it multiple times from start to finish, I don’t think I’ve ever skipped a track.  Which in todays day and age is impressive.  The tracks range from good ol fashioned rock n roll like cavalry to slower ballads such as Learning to Fall and Golden Love.  Then there’s Tijuana, one of my favorites, it has just a hint of south of the border influence in it.  It’s hard for me to just narrow the tracks down to a few, the whole album is good, but if I have to choose my stand out tracks, the list would be the following Cavalry, Dead Flowers, The Letter, Benjamin, Learning to Fall, Tijuana and Lonely Homes.

The World Comes Calling 2011

Released on Warner NZ in 2011 The World Comes Calling opens much the same as The Brave Don’t Run, with a great rock tune, and just like the previous album it doesn’t stop there.  In fact, this one may outdo the first, something that usually doesn’t happen.  This album has a huge sound, and throughout are sprinkled influences from the 80’s bands.  It’s like a modern album of Arena Rock and I mean that in a good way.  The guitar work and drumming is top notch and the songs are all very likable.  There’s even a couple of heavier tracks thrown in.  I will say that it is a bit of a departure from the first album, and again not in a bad way.  You can tell that they are both Midnight Youth, but you can see the growth between the two albums.  The first track The Street, was great, then came Down Inside, which was even better, both are awesome.  I think this album is more of a straight rock album, although it does have its softer side also, such as World Comes Calling and Listen.  If you like straight Rock, this album does it and does it well, It’s not Metal or Hard Rock, but its damn good.  Just like the previous album I can listen to the whole album all the way through, which makes it really hard to pick a few notables, but here goes The Street, Down Inside, Won’t Stop, Who Said Your Free, and Listen.

Comclusion

Well, I think they’re great, I’ve played them for my 60 year old stepfather (who loves The Beatles and CSNY) and he loved both albums and I’ve played them for cousins in their 20’s and younger and they’ve all enjoyed them.  If you like rock music I would definitely recommend giving Midnight Youth a try.  You can find them at http://www.midnightyouth.com/, itunes and on Amazon (although they still only have the first album)  So give them a try, I’m sure your ears will thank you for it! Thanks for reading!

-John

