Vegas baby day 3

How did it end?  Well not bad….overall.  We checked out at 11 then decided to grab lunch.  We decided to go to the Paris buffet.  So we got there and saw one hell of a line.  Now I’ve eaten there before and thought it was good, just not 30 minute wait good.  So we walked a bit further to the little “outdoor” cafe.  We checked out the menu, but decided tobstill go somewhere else.  My only requirement was tht it wasnt Bill’s again.  So as we walked back towards Ballys we so a gourmet burger place, Le Burger Brasserie. Now I had heard the place was pretty good so we decided to check it out.  Of course the waitresses dresed in a red corset kind of top and black hot pants may have influenced the decision also.  My buddy oredered the kobe burger, I ordered the Italian burger, medium of course. 

The burger was awesome, it had mozzerella, pancetta, oruguella, red onion and tomato.  It had a choice of buns also, we both picked the parmasean roll, which made the Italian even more awesome.  My buddy got the kobe burger, which he said was pretty good also.  If you’re in Vegas and want a unique and good burger (and dont mind spending 16 bucks for the combo) you should try it.

After lunch we went back to the Wheel of Fortune machine.  My buddy started playing, I decided that since I was up, I wasn’t going to play at all.  So we had about 3 hours till we needed to head for the airport, and based off the day before, my buddy thought his last 25 bucks would last the 3 hours.  He was wrong.  So after maybe an hour tops we headed for the airport…..nows when things would get interesting.

So we headed for the US Airways check in, only to find there was no record of us or the flight…because it was serviced by United Airlines.  Those of you that know me, know my luck with United, 3 flights and problems with all 3.  I figured what woukd the odds be that it would be 4, besides we didn’t have a choice anyway.

So we went to the self checkout, which went fine.  It even asked us if we wanted to look for an earlier flight, since we were so early, we fugured why not.  So we went through the whole proces, only to get an error and confirmation code.

So went and talked to a nice lady at the counter that said it would be 75 bucks.  We dnidnt remember reading that, but we probably just didnt pay attention.  So we declined and with our flight, she was nice enough to put us in economy plus for no extra charge though, which was awesome. 

So we got to the gate and hung out for awhile.  We were way early so we walked around the D concourse at McCarren,which I thought was very nice.  I even found and bought a shirt I liked.  We went back to the gate and saw that the flight was on time and that boarding would start at 6:03pm Vegas time, putting us into O’Hare at around midnight Chicago time.  So we ran over to the California Pizza Kitchen.

When we got back to the gate, I noticed that it had been pushed back till 7:30pm….4 times I’ve flown United, 4 problems, I know its not really their fault, I just have bad luck with them..and will now pay the little extra for American, since I’ve never had problems with them.  Oh, and remember, our US Airways flight Saturday was delayed also, what are the odds twice in one weekend with two different airlines!? 

So after a few more minutes it was pushed to 8:00pm.  Which puts us into O’Hare at 1ish.  I was a bit irritated but what can you do?  Then came the announcment that the plane would come in about 735 and that if we weren’t boarded with the door closed by 8:15pm the pilots would illegal and we couldn’t leave….until God knows when tomorrow! 

So, again I was irritated but holding it together.  I will give the crew a ton of credit, they pulled it off.  They deplaned a 757 and boarded us before 8:15.  In fact, we got asked if we wanted the emergency aisle seats, which have awesome leg room.  Also, its funny how much more forgiving you are when the first class flight attendant gives you a free mini bottle of Bicardi Superior to go with your Coke.  She along with the rest of the crew, grounf crew and gate agents did a great job of getting us airborn.

That being said, I still doubt I’ll fly United again,  I’ve only flown US Airways twice and got delayed once, so I’ll probably give them another shot.  Because of the delay I am typing this in the air and when I finally get home at like 2am I’ll turn on my wifi and post it…..if I don’t pass out first…..still though…..Vegas baby!

Stay posted for a recap of the trip in the next day or two, hope you enjoyed reading.  If you did, please share the link, oh and as usual, thanks for reading!

John

Oh and in case you didn’t realize, I did in fact fall asleep at 2am before posting.

