So I decided to finish the weeks off by trying to briefly go over a few things I learned this week, both on line and in real life.

Bamboo can make a cellphone

Well, to be fair, bamboo and a creative UK student can make a pretty slick looking prototype phone, hopefully it becomes a reality!  Here’s a link to a CNET article so you can learn more!

http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-57370680-1/adzero-brings-students-bamboo-phone-concept-to-life/

The Edmonton Oilers (its a hockey team) have apparently perfected time travel.

So even though I am a self proclaimed geek and nerd, I still like some mouth breather things, like hockey.  I’m a huge Blackhawks fan and when I see them allow 17 goals in 2 games against the Edmonton Oilers, I assume its because Edmonton has perfected time travel, went back to 1985 and brought Wayne Gretzky and Mark Messier forward in time and gave them Gagner jerseys to wear.

It’s the end of an era, McDonalds discontinues the use of “Pink Slime” as a filler.

Well to be fair, everyone said “slime” to me it looked like pink toothpaste but eh, still.  Apparently they were taking all the leftovers from processing meat and using some chemicals to make it “safe” to add to meat.  Granted I never heard of someone dyng from it, but still kind of gross.  If you want to read more check it out here…

http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/sideshow/mcdonald-confirms-no-longer-using-pink-slime-chemicals-171209662.html

Nicole likes farts….yup

So yeah, apparently Nicole over at http://soyouhaveagirlfriend.com/ likes farts! you don’t see that everyday from a woman.  Head over and check out this weeks episode!  If you haven’t heard about http://soyouhaveagirlfriend.com/ give it a try!

Felicia Day is a internet pioneer……and an awesome red head!

Yup those of you that know me already knew that i thought that, but what the hell I thought I’d give a short overview of her and why I think that.  You can get more info on my blog https://johnsbluebox.wordpress.com/2012/01/31/whos-that-girl-felicia-day/ or at… http://feliciaday.com/

Long wait for new sci-fi…..

If you’re a sci-fi fan, you may have to wait until mid year for your favorite show to come back, maybe even longer.  Check out my blog entry about it for more info.  https://johnsbluebox.wordpress.com/2012/01/30/what-the-wheres-my-sci-fi/

Achievements….for working in an IT department?

Yup, it was inevitable, eventually someone was going to combine their love of video games, IT and perhaps The IT Crowd into one awesome list of real life achievements to accomplish….  find it here!  http://evilrouters.net/achievement-unlocked/  See how many you can unlock!!

The Hunger Games are almost here!….and I feel fine…

So the long awaited Hunger Games are coming to the big screen and sadly I couldn’t really care so far.  I tried reading the books a couple of times and they just didn’t work for me.  The plot isn’t bad, I like the idea, just didn’t care for the books, maybe I’ll give them another chance in a bit.  Maybe I’ll like the movie though, I mean I didn’t like the LOTR books either, but the movies are some of my favorites….only time will tell…

You can punch a co-worker……if one’s  a douchbag and the company farms out its HR department…..

At a company a friend of mine works at, there are two sales guys.  One is a complete and utter ass.  I mean he makes horrible jokes to the customers and everything.  The other guy is a good guy and a good sales guy, he doesn’t bring in as much money as the jerk though.  Also, just an fyi, I’m not talking about like a store here, these are corporate accounts.  So the jerk was talking to an executive assitant and said, “I should have (other guys name here) file these papers!” and laughed.  Then guy number 2 said, “HEY! I’m standing right here!”  there was some other snide remark from the jerk off, then the nicer guy punched him in the back of the head!  Now all of us have had to deal with this jerk and the other guy did what we all wanted to do.  We thought he was going to get fired.  Now comes the fun part! The company doesn’t have a Human Resources department! It’s farmed out! So after two weeks or so of going through paper work, the HR company said that whatever happens to one guy has to happen to the other, so instead of reprimanding or firing anyone, they both walked away! so if your going to hit someone, make sure they insult you first, and that your HR department is off site so they don’t see it!

Want to break old printers and fax machines? I’ve got the soundtrack for you!

I know its old but no other soundtrack is better for destroying office equipment, well and office’s in general, then the Office Space soundtrack.  God its awesome to wreck stuff to that one, especially the Scarface track that’s on it.

Well that’s what I learned this week and I hope you learned it as well!  So stay tuned for more blogs and hey please check out my Beer Show over at my youtube channel….  http://youtu.be/QlHziuQCDNM  and if you’d like check out the rest of them also at http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF257ED14691B4177

So once again thanks for reading!

