So here we are a month into the new year and one thought crossed my mind…..Where the hell are the Sci Fi shows?!  I see lots of reruns but only a few shows currently airing new episodes, and nothing new on the horizon till at least mid year if not fall.  So I thought I would give a rundown of what I know and have found out about shows that we as sci fi fans are waiting for as well as what is on now that could help fill the void.  There could be more shows that I just don’t know about, so if you have another show that I don’t mention here, please fill free to leave it in the comments! So here we go!

Doctor Who – Sorry but to me this is the big one, I love this show as any of you that know me know.  This is the reason for the post.  I was sitting here watching (well listening to) the 5th Doctor (Peter Davisson) episode Earthshock and thought, “When is new Who coming out?”  Well unfortunately from what I have been able to dig up, not till fall of 2012.  That’s a long time to wait, especially with the shows 50th anniversary coming up in 2013.  So I’m not sure how they are doing this, I mean if season 7 (series 7 for my UK friends) starts in fall of 2012 and ends spring 2013, then when are they doing the anniversary stuff I keep reading about?  I guess only time will tell.  So hopefully fall of 2012 comes quick!

Torchwood – The only reason this is second is because it is a Doctor Who spin off.  Some of you may have heard of the show last year when Starz showed the 5 part miniseries “Miracle Day”  Others may be like me and remember when it had 2 full seasons that were pretty good before the first miniseries “Children of Earth” (I think that’s what it was called)  Sadly, I have found nothing concrete about another season, I would like to see a regular full length season again, but I doubt we’ll see it.

Haven – This was and still is one of my favorite shows, I love the way its filmed and the characters.  Besides that Emily Rose seems like such a sweetheart (well from her twits anyway.)  Unfortunately, we won’t see the continuation of last seasons cliffhanger until mid year.  I haven’t found a solid date, but based off the last 2 seasons, both which started in July, I would say Haven season 3 should be here mid July.

Warehouse 13 – Another of my favorites, Warehouse 13 does have a confirmed season 4 coming, and as with Haven, I would have to say, based off the other seasons, it should come back mid July also.

Eureka – While many people seemed to have been pissed about the announcement that the next season of Eureka will be its last, we should remember that it has had 65 episodes (sadly to me a few not so good) and that it has already spanned 5 years.  Which isn’t bad for a sci-fi show.  When does the beginning of the end start? Once again, this one seems to be ready to come back for its series finale in July.

Sanctuary – Ok, first I heard that this one was cancelled, then coming back, then cancelled, then coming back but I never found any solid proof.  If it is coming back it would probably come back in December, which I am assuming based off the start date of the last season.

Alphas – All I have found is that it was renewed, no rumors about the date or anything else.  So I would say that it would come back the same time the last season aired, mid July.

Merlin – This one is a bit confusing for me because I really don’t know how it airs in comparison to the UK.  From I found, production on the new season is starting in March, So I wouldn’t expect any new Merlin till late this year.

Awake – This show seems a bit interesting and looks like it deals with some cool concepts, it premieres in March 2012

So those are the ones that I am still waiting for, well at least a couple of them.  below, are the ones that are currently airing and when they will end and return.

Being Human (US Version) – Being Human is currently airing its second season, which should end in April 2012.  I didn’t find anything about it being renewed yet or when it would come back.

Lost Girl – This “new” SyFy channel show is in its first season in America, yet in Canada its already on season 2.  It just started here, and I didn’t expect to find any info about SyFy airing season 2 yet.

Walking Dead – The perennial zombie favorite wraps up season 2 in March.  I read that there was a 3rd season coming, based off the airing of the last 2 seasons I’d say it would be back in fall of 2012.

Fringe – I think Fringe is a great show and I think that John Noble does a great job.  Luckily for us, Fringe is airing until May, so we have some Sci-Fi on the air still.  I haven’t heard any news of a 5th season yet.

Firefly – Sadly, still no news on this shows return 😦

So that’s about it, well at least for the shows that I know and found info on.  Sadly it looks like between March and May there won’t be a lot of Sci Fi on but I guess that’s what Netflix is for.  If you guys have any other news please leave it in the comments for myself and others! Also, if you want news on your favorite shows, I would recommend following the cast on twitter, you’ll get some good info and glimpses back stage.  I also follow @SyFy he shares a lot of good info also.  thanks!

