I’ve never been a really big fan of baseball, I enjoy it and love going to the ballpark on a nice sunny day when the temp is the mid 70’s but I never really got into enough to hate one team.  I’ve gone to games for both teams and enjoyed myself.  Of course being a life long Cubs fan (thanks mom and papa!) I’ve gone to more of their games and usually root for them.  That being said, Oddly enough I dont care that they are having a horrible season this year.  They had back to back playoff seasons the last two years for the first time in decades so I’m not suprised at how bad they look this year.  In fact Im glad they are this bad.  I cant speak for the Ricketts so I dont know if this is true or not, but if I was a teams new owner I wouldnt make any big changes the first year either, no matter how bad the season is.  Why you may ask?  Because I would use the first year to see who on the staff and who on the field I would be keeping.  I think Pinella thinks that too, I also think he wouldve been gone anyway hence the announced retirement.  I would think that as a new owner you would want to wait a year then clean house and bring in your own people.  There wouldnt have been enough time to do it after they bought the team and honestly they would still probably have had a bad year anyway.  It takes time for players and teams to gel and I dont think they would have had time anyway.  I think next year will be a much different team and staff.  Now if they could just offload Zambrano……I think he’d fit in on the Southside

Now speaking of the southsiders, what a pleasent suprise they turned out to be.  Again I may be a cubs fan but even I can aprreciate what they have done from the begining of the season.  I thought for sure the Sox and Cubs would be battling it out to see who is the worst but what a turn around, all it took was Peavy getting hurt and them beating the Cubs.  I may hate Ozzie Guillen but he never ceases to impress me, he must be doing something right.  While I dont think they are legit World Series team, I think they will have a nice playoff run and at least give Chicago sports fans something until hockey season…..which leads me too……

